On the Origin of “A Flood From the Soul”

In my previous post, I described Ryan Muirhead’s Film show episode 14 monologue as a “flood from the soul.” I’m here to tell you that I am not so brilliant as to invent terms like that on my own. The source for that is good reading that will lead you to more good reading, all of which is tied in mood, tone and content to those 9:00 of soul bearing from Film.

I got the phrase from the New York Times Book Review. A while ago, they republished famous reviews of famous novels, and I was compelled not only to tear out and keep, but to actually frame and display, as essay entitle “A Flood From the Soul,” reviewing a current translation of Fyodor Dostoevsky’s The Brothers Karamazov. While I recommend skipping Constance Garnett’s translation in favor of the newer one by Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky, this review nonetheless hits a cord with me not just because it is great writing about great writing, but it is great writing about the novel that got me interested in literature and philosophy. It was recommended to me by one of my favorite college professors, and man was it ever the book I needed to read at that moment in time.

Read the review, and read the book, too. It’s looking like a reread is coming up soon for me.

And if you can’t handle the Dostoevsky, Kerouac’s The Dharma Bums and Desolation Angels will fit the bill nicely to make my point.

Leave a Reply

