Emily and Lisa {Philadelphia Engagement Photography}

This past weekend, I had the pleasure of working with the excellent Lisa and Emily on an engagement shoot. Emily started out by explaining how awkward they were going to be…I love it when clients begin by informing you the whole process is going to be awful.

Being themselves was never a problem, but I had UPenn put up a banner just in case they needed reminding.

Having met Emily before, I knew it was all bluster. Both of these women have great personalities, and are easy and engaging to be with. But the awkwardness comment did serve as a good jumping off point to have a few laughs, which lead to genuine smiles, which is always a good thing. And they are a couple for whom genuine smiles are always just below the surface.

More difficult than getting the banner put up was getting a sculpture installed. That took some foresight a good number of years ago. I guessed right on the L for Lisa, and the E for Emily, but I can’t for the life of me remember what the O and V stand for. The good news is I got a two-for-one deal, and I put the extra down by City Hall.

True story here: I first ran into Emily and Lisa at a wedding last summer, where they were guests of a groom who it turned out was a co-worker of one of my former roommates. Emily and Lisa were being a Very Cute Couple at that wedding, so I sort of stalked them all evening long with my camera, and got a few good shots. They got back in touch, and I’m looking forward to shooting their wedding in September, where that groom is going to be the officiant. I love small worlds.

The actual location of the asking-of-The-Question is a few feet up the street, but there was a giant black air conditioner sticking out of the window under which they got engaged, so we figured this spot would do just as well to commemorate things.

In honor of Lisa and Emily’s profession (both are lawyers), I figured we should start the day off with a bit of petty larce….let’s just say that we fortuitously happened upon a bouquet of hydrangeas that as far as I could tell had been abandoned. They went well with the wardrobe choices, and they ended up being carried around in most of the shots. Who doesn’t like free flowers?

The last shots of the day were taken outside of Vetri, where they had their first date, and where they ate the evening before. If you aren’t from Philadelphia, you might not know that Vetri is one of the best restaurants in the country. I’ll get there one day.

Thanks again to an excellent couple, and I’m looking forward to September!

Leave a Reply

