Technology Affects How You Shoot.

I was tweeting today about my favorite of several new toys. Maybe I’ll get around to mentioning the others sometime soon, although I must admit that most of them only will appeal to people who like talking tech. But my favorite of the new lot is my Bronica, for which I have recently professed profound love.

I’m still learning the ropes of it, and still getting comfortable with just sort of eyeballing the light and making exposure decisions about it. Still, it is definitely a departure, and a fun one at that, from the immediacy of digital photography. Not that the immediacy of the digital formats is a bad thing…but in a time when photographers can reel off an unlimited number of shots and then pick out the several best, it is not only a change of pace, but also a change in the way of thinking, to be limited to twelve shots per roll of film. Shooting with this type of camera slows me down and makes me think about each and every exposure.

Of course, one should always slow down and think of each and every exposure. I can’t speak for anyone but myself, but I know that I for one certainly am guilty of the “start shooting and see what happens” approach when using digital. With the medium format, it’s more “stop and be clear about what is going to happen.”

On my July 4th trip to NC, there was one morning of dense fog. I had the chance to simply duck out into the backyard and take a few shots. The fog is like a very spongey seamless background–it doesn’t have a definite surface, but it certainly goes out to white somewhere out there over the pond. Neat little effect, especially with the mid-morning sun giving enough light for details in the trees.

85mm lens, Ilford Delta 100 film

 

Leave a Reply

