Meters. Not Yards.

Another frame from my first shoot with the Bronica SQ. I’m using an 85mm 2.8 lens, and Kodak T-Max 400 film (120 formate, of course). Going through my bookmarks the other day, I was reminded why I bought this thing in the first place. It might have been a bit of an impulse buy, but I must say there are no regrets. Far from it!

A subtle thing I love about the negatives is that the edge is irregular; you can see the holders that keep the negative where it should be, and I love how it gives a little bit of character to the framing of the picture. I guess this is also a way of showing off that the image isn’t cropped, if you’re into that sort of thing. I run into a little bit of trouble here, because even though I’ve never been a real big cropper of frames, I think that my right leg is actually a bit shorter than my left, because I do have a tendency to tilt my frames a bit from the horizontal, and when that happens, any straightening results in losing that border. Of course I have to blame my legs. There’s no way I could possibly be the cause of holding a camera not-level. Must be something else out of my control. For certain.

I’ve also been metering with two methods that are probable not recommended. First, I shoot a few frames with my digital camera, and then just carry those settings over to the fully-manual Bronica. Of course, one has to be careful here, when metering, to use full stops on the digital…I’ve gotten so used to 1/3 stop increments that I really have to make myself pay attention there. But it does result in decent exposures. Maybe some other time I’ll pick up the debate about reflective v. incident metering, but not now.

The other method of metering has been to use the “sunny 16” rule, and then just sort of eyeball the reduction in light caused by clouds. Here, I am relying on my judgment, and there are many many people who will come forward and tell anyone willing to listen that this, when dealing with me, is a foolhardy strategy.

Oh and by the way, Happy Birthday to my wife! She’s awesome.

 

Leave a Reply

