Things Are Looking Up Again

I think the rules go something like this: keep the sun either over your shoulder or off to the side, use a long focal length, and shoot from slightly above your subjects.

I’ve never like the sun-over-your-shoulder convention. I understand the basic point, but, you know….yech. But I went for the bad-idea trifecta on this shot, using my 24-70 and 29mm (that’s a 43mm equivalent, so technically, a normal focal length), lying on my back on the ground, shooting into the sun. I like it.

These are my two brothers-in-law and my sister-in-law-in-law, and they are in the habit of liking what they call rock band photos…people spread out, looking aloof, being all cool and junk and stuff. I think it all comes together.

D300s, lens as specified above and I don’t feel like retyping it because that would just take up way too much time and space to repeat something you already know, ISO 320 (huh? I have no idea), shutter 1/400s. Lightroom plus some curves in CS4.

Leave a Reply

